help_outline Skip to main content

Add Me To Your Mailing List

Rotary Opens Opportunities

NOTE: Club members DO NOT use this button to pay your dues. This link is only for donations to the St. George Rotary Club Foundation, Inc. If you wish to pay dues or make contributions to EREY or PolioPlus, please contact the Treasurer, Collin Davis, at 435-215-9972. Thank you.

News / Articles

McArthur installed as Rotary president

 | Published on 7/10/2013

ST. GEORGE — Durant McArthur of St. George was installed as 2013-14 president of the 60-mem­ber Rotary Club of St. George, assuming duties and responsi­bilities from out­going President Phillip Hall. Prior to passing the gavel, Hall noted how the informal leadership style of his board had resulted in several positive changes to the club’s structure and program­ming, including reorgani­zation of board assign­ments, review and update of club bylaws, successful grant writing, stronger youth programs and addi­tional boots on the ground for the Guatemala stove project and other service in that country. McArthur, who re­minded club members he is “a better writer than I am a speaker,” is an emer­itus natural resource sci­entist who returned to his hometown in 2008 after a successful career with the research branch of the U.S. Forest Service, most­ly at the Shrub Sciences Laboratory on the campus of Brigham Young Univer­sity. A past member of four Rotary clubs from a dedicated Rotary family, the new St. George presi­dent considered himself a “back bencher” in some of his previous service but promised to step up.

McArthur pledged to follow in the distinguished footsteps of his father and two of his three brothers, all who previously served in the club’s top spot and other outstanding club presidents. His late father, Eldon, also served as Utah Rotary District Governor in 1986-87.

The new president will be assisted in his duties by board members: Secre­tary/Treasurer Richard Isom; President-Elect Bette Arial, who will man­age youth activities and functions; Linda Sapping­ton, who will be responsi­ble for public relations; Ja­net O’Riley, who will man­age club administration; Collin Davis, who over­sees fundraising; and Sheldon Banks, who will oversee service activities.

Phil Hall will continue in a leadership role as chairman of the club’s foundation and immediate past president, and Nick Lang will be responsible for membership activ­ities.

For information about Rotary, call 467-1040.

2020-21 Club Officers

Dale Desmond

Kurt Johnson
President-elect 2021-2022

Greg Zemp
President Nominee 2022-2023

Chris Parker
Immediate Past President/Foundation

Allison McArthur

Collin Davis

Tom McArthur
Reed Noble
Ken Sizemore

David Prisbrey

Lynn Beecher, Rulon Olsen

DG Linda Sappington
Specialist/Public Information