help_outline Skip to main content

Add Me To Your Mailing List

Rotary Opens Opportunities

NOTE: Club members DO NOT use this button to pay your dues. This link is only for donations to the St. George Rotary Club Foundation, Inc. If you wish to pay dues or make contributions to EREY or PolioPlus, please contact the Treasurer, Collin Davis, at 435-215-9972. Thank you.

News / Articles

Rotary announces 4-way test essay contest

 | Published on 3/27/2014

The St. George Rotary Club’s ninth annual 4-Way Test Essay Contest is an opportunity for sixth-grade students in the St. George area to consider the influence of a family member, friend, teacher, coach or other mentor in his or her life. Essays must relate to the subject’s example of living the values of Rotary International’s 4-Way Test “of the things we think, say or do: is it the truth? Is it fair to all concerned? Will it build goodwill and better friendships? Will it be beneficial to all concerned?”


Essays are to be submitted to the student’s language arts teacher at Tonaquint, Sunrise Ridge, Lava Ridge or Fossil Ridge intermediate schools on or before April 4. Each composition must also be no less than 300 words or more than 400 words, generated with a computer word processor, double-spaced in block paragraphs without indentation and include the name of the student, his or her teacher and school.


First prize essay selected at each school will receive $50, and the second-prize winner will receive $25.


Additionally, a prize of $200 will be awarded to the teacher with the highest percentage of student participation, provided participation is at least 30 percent. The participation prize is to be used at the teacher’s discretion for the good of the students in his or her classes.


Winners will deliver their essay to the St. George Rotary Club at their regular noon luncheon meeting May 5 at the Lexington Inn, 850 S. Bluff St. in St. George.


The Rotary Club of St. George is one of four Rotary clubs in Washington County and more than 150,000 clubs in the world. Chartered in 1931, the more than 70 members of the county’s oldest non-profit service club provide “service above self” in the county, state and the world. For information, call 435-216-7024.

2020-21 Club Officers

Dale Desmond

Kurt Johnson
President-elect 2021-2022

Greg Zemp
President Nominee 2022-2023

Chris Parker
Immediate Past President/Foundation

Allison McArthur

Collin Davis

Tom McArthur
Reed Noble
Ken Sizemore

David Prisbrey

Lynn Beecher, Rulon Olsen

DG Linda Sappington
Specialist/Public Information